The beginning

January 15, 2009

Hello.

In honor of 2009, I decided to run a triathlon.  I am still figuring out the why behind the decision – I have never been impressed by the logic that someone should do something simply because they can.  Perhaps the why will unravel itself as the months go by.

I checked a book on triathlon training from the library  (where else?) and flipped through the pages.  My decision probably would have  fizzled out with that one, small action.  Last week; however, I heard a radio ad for a program called Team in Training.  A branch of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, they train people for endurance events.  In return, the participants agree to raise money for blood cancer research.  I thought, “This sounds like exactly what I need – to tie my small goal into a larger, more meaningful goal.” 

I went to the meeting, watched the videos, met a little kid with leukemia (in remission, fortunately) and signed on the dotted line.  I went home excited for the project and immediately told the good friends we joined at the bar that night.

I woke up at 2 this morning to get a glass of water.  As soon as I got back into bed, a treacherous little voice in the corner of my brain whispered, “What have you gotten yourself into?!”  Did I mention that the triathlon event is a .9 mile swim, a 28 mile bike ride and a 6 mile run? Or that I agreed to raise nearly $4,000?  With these thoughts spinning around in my head, it took some time to get back to sleep.

This morning, I remembered a quote from one of my favorite authors, Anne Lamott and it helped shrink things to manageable proportions.  Here it is:

“Thirty years ago my older brother, who was ten years old at the time, was trying to get a report on birds written that he’d had three months to write, which was due the next day. We were out at our family’s cabin in Bolinas, and he was at the kitchen table, close to tears, surrounded by binder paper and pencils and unopened books on birds, immobilized by the hugeness of the task ahead.  Then my father sat down beside him, put his arm around my brother’s shoulder and said, “Bird by bird, buddy.  Just take it bird by bird.” ~ Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

That is my plan.  One step at a time, one stroke at a time, one dollar at a time.  Bird by bird.

One Response to “The beginning”

  1. robin Says:

    How can I help?


Leave a Reply

