How Can I Help?

January 19, 2009

The title of this post is taken from a comment my wonderful brother left after my first post.  In case anyone else was wondering the same thing, here are some ideas:

1) Donate money. My apologies for the directness, but there it is.  Team in Training raises money to fight blood cancers.  The fight comes in the forms of financing research and supporting families who have a member battling a blood cancer.  To reach my donation site, clickhere.You can also click on the words “Donate Here” in the right hand column.

2) Make me a really great mix.  High-tempo, energizing music.  Running any length is not something I am naturally inclined to do (I think this will be the subject of a future post) so I’d appreciate any help I can get in the motivation area.

3) Send me supportive messages. 

4) If you have a blog or webpage, link to my blog. Better yet, mention me or Team in Training in your blog (thanks, Seanie!)

5) Be a guest blogger.  Write a post and send it to me.  If it is even remotely relevant, I’ll put it on my blog.

6) Do you work for a business that might consider sponsoring me?  Send me the contact information and I’ll get in touch.  Let me know if it is okay to drop your name.

7) Do you have an artistic or crafty bent?  Donate some cool art, jewelry, quilt, beer, etc. that you made.  I think I’ll be having periodic raffles for anyone who donated within a set period.  Your creations would make great prizes.

8) Do have experience with fundraising?  Share your expertise with me – I could use it!

9) Have you participated in an endurance event like a triathlon or marathon?  I’d really appreciate any advice you could give.

10) Do you have some connection with the sporting goods world that results in a discount?  I’ll need to buy some cycling, swimming and running gear and would love to take advantage of your employee discount!

Thank you to everyone that has supported me so far and is thinking of doing something on this list. Knowing I have people behind me and interested in my progress makes me feel even more motivated to succeed in this endeavor.

One Response to “How Can I Help?”

  1. Poppa Says:

    $50.00 towards your goal. You didn’t know this but after your Mom’s breast cancer I committed myself to help in some small way with cancer research. The first opportunity to come along was to be the neighborhood beggger for the anual fund drive for the Leukemia and Lymphoma folks. I took it and raised twice the goal for Heather Road.


Leave a Reply

