I love pool?

February 14, 2009

I am looking for a pool.

My training schedule requires me to swim twice a week.  Our team has a coached swim practice on Tuesday nights, leaving one swim a week for which I need a pool.

Two weeks ago, I tried out the only public pool in Tacoma that operates in the winter.  Unfortunately, the window of time I had coincided with free swim time.  The pool staff used lane ropes to cut the pool into quarters.  I swam, but getting any sort of distance in 12.5 meter lengths is a bit trying.  Plus, rust coated the lockers in the locker room, leaving me feeling a bit dingy.

Yesterday, I visited a local gym and sat through the 45 minute spiel to receive a guest pass.  I like the pool and facility overall seemed new and clean but I would like to avoid paying forty dollars to swim four times a month.  One funny thing happened: I made an incorrect assumption that they would have towel service.  They did not, so after my shower, I dried off the best I could using the hair dryer.  Luckily, I swam during a slow period so there was no one in the locker room to witness my embarrassment.

My next plan of attack is to see if the University of Puget Sound will let me use their pool.  I live only two blocks from the campus, so this would be ideal.  The pool staff has not yet returned my phone call, but I will go during free swim and talk to the attendant.  If they say “no,” I have a string I can pull (hi, Anne!) I’ll keep you posted.

In other news, my team might have a booth at the Tacoma marathon in May where we sell stuff as a fundraiser.  Any suggestions on what type of stuff a marathon runner might want to buy?

Bonus points if you can tell me what movie my title post references.

Leave a Reply

