Goggle Hickeys

March 4, 2009

Yesterday, we did a timed swim to see how far each of us could go in 30 minutes without stopping.  I made it 1275 yards – a mile is 1650 yards and the swim for the triathlon will be 1584 yards.  Not that I have to do it in any set time, but my coach thinks that I should be able to do it in 30  minutes by the end of June.

About an hour after the swim, after showering, driving home, picking up some beer and drinking it, I looked in the bathroom mirror.  This is what I saw:

 

 

pict0079

You may not notice if you’re not looking for it, but about an inch above each eyebrow is a slightly darker crescent shape – goggle hickeys!  I thought they were pretty funny.  And, in the case of full disclosure, by the time I woke up this morning, they had disappeared.  Next time, I ‘ll have to try harder (not that I tried for these) if I want to look like a hardcore swimmer!

3 Responses to “Goggle Hickeys”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Not sure if you know this; goggles are of more use when placed over your eyes, not your forehead.
    😉 Keep up the good work!

  2. robin Says:

    I thought the post was titled ‘Google Hickeys’. I was very puzzled.

  3. maria Says:

    wear your goggle hickeys with pride! they are the mark of a true athlete.

    (that and the scent of chlorine that lingers long after your shower and has your loved ones commenting that you smell like a public pool)


Leave a Reply

