Bright Green Envelopes

March 9, 2009

In late February, I mailed out my official fundraising letters.  I spent a lot of time on the text, wanting to “tell the story.”  In other words, I wanted my friends and family to get a real sense of the people their donation would help.  Here is what I wrote:

As 2009 dawned, I assessed my life and felt rich with blessings. The time felt right to give something back. I began volunteering at the local children’s hospital , reading books to them and playing games with the kids staying there.

While volunteering, I met Isaac. The first time I laid eyes on him, he swooped down the hallway wearing a bat costume. Brimming with life, this four-year-old brought smiles to the faces of all the staff. Isaac knew the staff at the hospital well, since he has received treatment there for more than half his life. Isaac was diagnosed with lymphoblast lymphoma, a type of blood cancer, in March 2006. Fortunately, his time there draws to its end. His cancer is currently in remission and March should bring his last maintenance treatment.

I felt drawn to this small person, so lively despite everything he had experienced. I talked with his mother and learned about the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (LLS.) During Isaac’s illness, LLS provided both financial and emotional support for the family. In addition, LLS funds research for new blood cancer treatments. Inspired by this family’s story, I looked up LLS to discover how I could help. When I read about a branch of LLS called Team in Training, something spoke directly to me.

Team in Training works with individuals to prepare them for endurance events. On June 28th, I will participate in the Pacific Crest Olympic Triathlon in Sunriver, Oregon. The race includes a .9 mile swim, a 28-mile bike ride and a 6-mile run. In return for coaching and assistance with race logistics, I am honored to raise $3,900.00 for LLS. At times, the prospects of both the race and the fundraising goal leave me feeling daunted, but thinking of the challenges Isaac faced places everything in perspective.

Will you help? LLS can only accomplish what they do because of generous people such as you backing them. Any size donation makes a difference.

Will you help? LLS can only accomplish what they do because of generous people such as you backing them. Any size donation makes a difference. You can donate online by visiting my donation website:

www.tinyurl.com/supportjoy

If you would prefer to donate by writing a check, I have included a self addressed stamped envelope. All donations are tax deductible.

Thank you.

Each letter went into a bright (but not neon) green envelope with my “business” card and a self-addressed stamped envelope.  The first of the return envelopes appeared in my mail box this morning, filled with generous donations. Huzzah!

 

One Response to “Bright Green Envelopes”


  1. […] everyone to whom I have ever spoken.  (To read the text of it, check out my post titled Bright Green Envelopes.)  Friends, you amaze me.  The response has been wonderful – both in terms of response and gift […]


Leave a Reply

