Do not try this at home

March 24, 2009

A few days ago, my mother sent me this video:

Looks pretty cool, right? I like hard boiled eggs, but I hate the unpredictability of them. Sometimes, the shell slips right off, but sometimes chunks of the egg white stick to the shell, leaving a pitted mess and a frustrated Joy. I find this especially maddening because I cook them the same way and get different results. So, when I saw this video, I thought, “Aha! The answer to one of life’s great mysteries.”

A colleague is retiring so the library hosted a potluck lunch in her honor. I had two dozen eggs in my refrigerator, so I decided to make devilled eggs – use up some eggs and try out the incredible method showcased in this video.

Well.

I did everything he said but my eggs did not pop nicely out the other end. In fact, they were the worst case of the whites sticking to the shell EVER. Plus, the eggs tasted slightly of baking soda. I got so frustrated that I threw away the whole dozen eggs. And when I say “threw,” that’s not just a figure of speech. I hurled them into the trash can to vent some of my frustration.

Then, I took the second dozen eggs out of the fridge and cooked them using the best method (but still not 100%) I’d found – poking the blunt end with a pin before submerging them in the water. This allows a tiny bit of water to get between the shell and egg, resulting in generally easy-peel eggs.

I devilled the eggs, topping each one with a slice of pimento-stuffed green olive. I felt like a housewife from the fifties. Actually, the olive slice was supposed to look like an iris and pupil – the woman retiring loves dragons, so I called them “Dragon Eyes.”

2 Responses to “Do not try this at home”

  1. Sean Says:

    You do realize that this is a joke, yes? If you look very carefully, when he goes to ‘blow’ on the egg, there a slight blur. What is happening is that the guy hands the egg to some else, they put it into a super duper peeling machine, peel it, then hand it back to the guy and he pretends that he did it. Honestly, you must be in your dotage to miss that one.

  2. Mom Says:

    I sure am sorry Joy!! I fell for it hook, line and sinker. But then I am in my dotage so I guess its ok!
    I sure am glad I didn’t show it to Greg because he cooks eggs all the time and turn out very well most of the time. If I come up with a better way I will certainly share it with you!! Love Mom


Leave a Reply

