Grown-ups Get to do all the Driving

March 30, 2009

This weekend, we had our first brick workout.  Don’t feel bad if this term means nothing to you – I had to look it up when our coach first emailed it to us.  A brick workout is doing two sports back to back – stacked, like bricks.  This weekend, we had to ride our bike five miles, jump off, change our shoes and run about a third of a mile.  We repeated this cycle three times.  Since it was the first such workout, the goal was mostly to get the feel of quickly switching muscle groups.  It feels really strange – I’ll probably write more about this in a future post.

I missed the team workout because I had to work on Saturday, so I did it on my own this morning.  I figured out a five mile loop that started and ended at my house and a much shorter loop for the run.  This had me coming and going from the house many times in a short period of time.  During one of the times, I rode up to the back of the house, put my bike away and emerged wearing my running shoes.  I heard a neighborhood kid say to his friend, “Hey, I just saw her . . .”

I didn’t hear the rest of the statement, but I could easily finish his thought.  It made me think about how I would explain a triathlon to a kid.  I’d say something like this: “You see, it’s three sports back to back.  First, we swim, then we ride bikes, then we run. ”  A kid would probably think I was crazy – that’s not a triathlon, that’s a normal day during summer vacation.

This put me in mind of one of my favorite children’s books, Grown-ups Get to do All the Driving by William Steig. It’s not a story, but rather a compilation of observations about grown-ups from children’s point of view.  If this book is to believed, we can appear pretty ridiculous to kids. Here’s the image that particularly came to mind:

grownups-running2

Leave a Reply

