Fundraising Update

April 6, 2009

As those of you who have been reading since the beginning know, the physical aspect of this triathlon is only half the challenge.  The other half is raising $3900 for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  At the start of this adventure, I found the fundraising the more daunting of the two challenges.  I pride myself on my independence and only ask for help when I cannot avoid it.  Luckily, I need to raise enough money that it was clear from the beginning I could not do it on my own.

I followed LLS’s instructions and sent out a fundraising letter to practically everyone to whom I have ever spoken.  (To read the text of it, check out my post titled Bright Green Envelopes.)  Friends, you amaze me.  The response has been wonderful – both in terms of response and gift amount.  The self-addressed stamped envelopes are still trickling in!  Plus, my brother changed his comment signature in Woot to link to my fundraising page.  I have had two complete strangers donate money.  (Thanks, Woot  strangers!) 

According to my official fundraising page, I have $2,335.00 – 59% of the total needed!  With nearly three months left, this puts me in a great position.  I must, however, get creative to bring in that last 41%.  I have three projects in mind, with the possibility of others.

1) I am having Team in Training cycling jerseys designed.  I hope to sell these to members of other TNT teams, but I will be sure to post more information on my blog in case one of my dear readers would like to buy one.

2) Kentucky Derby Party!  Mint juleps, hat contest, watching the race, amazing prizes.  You are all invited.

3) Garage sale/lemonade stand.  I plan on borrowing my friend’s two adorable children to run the lemonade stand.  If you have a bag or pile ready for the Goodwill, please consider giving it to me instead.  I’ll even come pick it up (unless you live farther away than Seattle.)

More details to come . . .

One Response to “Fundraising Update”

  1. Poppa Says:

    Put me down foe a double XL tee shirt


Leave a Reply

