Rounding third

May 9, 2009

I started this crazy project at the end of January which puts me about 3/4 of the way through training.  Luckily, I can report that I feel like I am rounding third base in terms of readiness.

Yesterday, I swam 1500 meters without stopping!  This is the length I will swim in the race and, up till now, I had been secretly wondering if I could do it.  Now I know I can.  I swam it in 32 minutes, 36 seconds.  This time won’t win me any medals, but it’s nothing to be ashamed of, either.  The best part: I wasn’t that tired at the end.  I totally could have jumped on a bike and started riding.  Which, of course, is exactly what I will have to do on June 28th!

In fundraising news, I am getting close – I have raised $3290, 84% of the total amount.  Next Saturday, I will hand out balloons at a local farmer’s market.  The suggested donation will be $1 per balloon, but of course, I’m hoping people will give more.  We’ll see – if nothing else, it will be a chance to spread the word about Team in Training and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s good work.

Leave a Reply

