Brrrr . . . .

May 23, 2009

On Thursday, I tried on my wetsuit for the first time.  Swimming in a wetsuit feels quite a bit different than swimming in a regular suit.  Also, swimming in freezing cold lake water feels quite a bit different than swimming in a temperate pool.  For one thing, I felt like I could entirely fill up my lungs when I took a breath.  Was this due to the snugness of the wetsuit around my ribs or the temperature of the water?  I can’t tell.  My brain tried to go into “AAAAAAAAAA you’re not getting enough oxygen!” panic mode but I told it to calm down and it did.  I guess that’s why it is important to practice in the lake before a race – so you know what to expect.

On the plus side, I naturally swim pretty straight.  We practiced something called “sighting” where you pull your head out of the water during a breath to make sure you are swimming in the right direction.  Nine out of ten times, I was.  So, rest assured, I won’t be swimming all the way to China during the race.

Leave a Reply

