Six Days

June 22, 2009

This time next week, it will all be over.  In the past seven days, people have asked me if I feel:

a) excited

b) anxious

The answer is yes.  And no.  I certainly have moments of anxiety and moments of excitement.  I feel certain that as the big day approaches, the excitement will grow.  Mostly; however, I feel ready.  Ready in the sense that I am physically prepared but also ready to do it and be done with it.  I want to check “Triathlon” off the “Things to Do Before I Die” list and move on to a new project.

Don’t get me wrong – I have thoroughly enjoyed the process but anyone who knows me knows that I love having several projects going.  This project required a time commitment and focus that did not leave room for much else.  I’ll be glad to have time free for new adventures. 

I think I’ll continue doing triathlons, though.  Now that the exercise is part of my routine, it should not be too difficult to keep it up.  I will simply shift it to the morning and free up my afternoons for other things.

I am feeling very calm and focussed right now.  I’ll be sure to post often in the coming week so you can see if this feeling morphs into something more dramatic.  I’ll keep you posted . . .

One Response to “Six Days”

  1. anne jones Says:

    I have gotten behind on your blog, and as I catch up on posts I can feel the anticipation building!! What you are doing is so great, and I hope you appreciate the mountain you’ve climbed in your training! I got tears in my eyes recently when I saw some runners out together before the Sound to Narrows. It is such a priveledge to be able to train and compete…I am really jealous! Sending you happy, positive vibes as you count down to the big day…


Leave a Reply

